Cover Story

Cover Story

 

I can’t stay long, but realise it is ages since I posted and this is a very exciting post for me.

 

The publication date for my first published book – the children’s novel ‘Girl with a White Dog’ (Catnip) is coming closer every day (March 1st) and I have been sent a photo of the finished wonderful cover. It is designed by Philippa Johnson of Bounce Marketing ( a multi-talented person) and illustrated by Serena Rocca. 

 

Ta Da! (trumpet fanfare)

 

 

Image

 and Ta Da! (another trumpet fanfare and lots of clapping)

 Image

 I love it because they have really thought about the book. ‘Girl with a White Dog’ references Grimms’ fairy tales alot, and also has a scene where Jessie, the heroine, takes Snowy, the white German Shepherd puppy, to dog training in a wood. So Pip and Serena have come up with a very fairytale-like scene. ‘Girl with a White dog’ is about a story happening now, so Serena has drawn a very contemporary teenager. It links to a story happening over 70 years ago, and Pip has alluded to that by using font on the cover which is like typewriter print or the type of print you would find in older children’s books.

 

 

I also love it because walking dogs in woods is very much part of my own teenagers’ lives:

 

Image

 

 (The family dogs have run on ahead in the picture – luckily Serena made sure there was an illustrated white dog on the cover!)

 

Image

 

Found them! With 2 of my teenage daughters (I LOVE how Serena has drawn Jessie on the cover) and my husband. 

 

I feel very proud of the line ‘A story to change hearts and minds’ on the back, as I really hope it does do that, and because that was originally Non Pratt’s suggestion. Non took on ‘Girl with a White Dog’ and along with Liz Bankes, was my editor. She left at Christmas, and is about to be a debut YA author with Walker Books with her book ‘Trouble’ (also out March 1st), so it is lovely to have something by her on the cover. I feel very grateful to her for taking ‘Girl with a White Dog’ on when my lovely agent, Anne Clark, submitted it to her.

 

So, all in all, Yippee! I hope you love the cover as much as I do. I still can’t quite believe it is true.

And a BIG thank you to Pip and Serena, and to Liz and Non for editing, and to Anne Clark for believing in the book and taking me on in the first place!

 

17 thoughts on “Cover Story

  1. Catherine @ Story Snug January 24, 2014 at 9:28 am Reply

    Congratulations on the book Anne – exciting times ahead! The cover is beautiful 🙂

  2. Lucy Mills January 24, 2014 at 10:41 am Reply

    It looks beautiful! You must be chuffed:)

    • bridgeanneartandwriting January 24, 2014 at 10:44 am Reply

      I am! I feel so lucky that they have taken such trouble and created such a lovely cover. Thanks for your lovely comment!

  3. AJ Is At Home (@henriettabird) January 24, 2014 at 11:41 am Reply

    It looks lovely. I’m so thrilled for you – roll on 1 March X

  4. Julia Lee January 24, 2014 at 3:01 pm Reply

    It looks great. So glad you are thrilled with it. Next stage – the real book in your hands. Enjoy!

  5. Virginia Moffatt (@aroomofmyown1) January 24, 2014 at 4:55 pm Reply

    It’s wonderful to know your book is coming out soon and (when covers are often an afterthought) it has the cover it deserves. Beautiful!

  6. Zoe January 24, 2014 at 5:43 pm Reply

    This is lovely – I’d heard from Pip about it, and think it is just gorgeous.

  7. Polly Faber January 24, 2014 at 5:54 pm Reply

    Yippee indeed! Looks terrific and I can’t wait to read.

  8. Cath How January 25, 2014 at 9:51 am Reply

    Cath, Kingston
    Really liked hearing the thoughts on your cover and how it connects to your own life. I enjoyed meeting you with Kaz, some time ago now. Very best wishes for your book coming out!

  9. bridgeanneartandwriting January 25, 2014 at 11:06 am Reply

    Hi Cath – I also want to say how brilliant it is you are now fellow member of Anne’s agency. She is such a lovely, supportive agent!

    • Cath Howe January 25, 2014 at 5:03 pm Reply

      I’m delighted about it. Ever since we met that evening, I’ve been working towards it, I think, sending work and responding to feedback. I remember you saying Anne had ‘restored your faith in agents’ and your comments stuck in my mind. Thank you for your encouragement- we all need it, I think.

      • bridgeanneartandwriting January 25, 2014 at 10:14 pm

        Absolutely! It’s so easy to doubt ourselves, and having her as an agent makes all the difference.

  10. Lydia Syson (@LydiaSyson) February 4, 2014 at 11:05 am Reply

    Just seen this – what a glorious cover! Can’t wait to see it in the shops.

    • bridgeanneartandwriting February 4, 2014 at 11:43 am Reply

      Thank you! I am very grateful to Catnip for such a lovely cover! Serena and Pip did a wonderful job.

Leave a Reply

