Girl With a White Dog – my first book!

I am so excited.

A lovely person on twitter DMd me and asked if she could pre-order my book

As I haven’t seen a proof copy or even a finished cover I didn’t think so but, laughing to myself about my hastiness, I tapped in the title into Amazon. And there it was!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=Girl+with+a+white+dog

and then on Waterstones

 

http://www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/products/anne+booth/girl+with+a+white+dog/10028242

It says I am also the writer of some very learned books on the Indonesian economy and a couple of what look like very nice adult novels. Sadly, I am not.

But I AM the author of ‘Girl with a White Dog’. Hooray!

So I have just emailed my publisher to say is it OK if I tweet/blog about this. If you are reading this then she has said ‘yes’.

But I am a bit scared. I read an excellent post by the author Candy Gourlay about people who oversell their book online, and I don’t want to do that. I will put the link at the end of this to reassure you that I am really going to try not to do anything like that. I hope you will excuse this blog post on this most exciting day for me though, as I never ever thought I would see my book listed on Amazon or Waterstones online!

I really really want my book to sell. I want it to sell for lots of reasons.

1) Because I just can’t think of anything more satisfying (career-wise) than the thought of someone being happy to pick up and read my book and then enjoying it. I love books so much I can’t believe that I have joined that community of authors, and I want my writing to give as much joy to readers as I have had reading wonderful books.

2)To thank my family for all they have put up with during the years I have been writing and getting nice rejections but no further. To thank them for putting up with piles of books all over the house, late dinners and me disappearing to write, but most of all for believing in me to an embarrassing extent. My husband once introduced me to someone as ‘my wife, who is a writer’ – this was when I had no agent and no publisher, so I felt rather embarrassed explaining to the interested person just why my husband described me as such – but immensely touched by his faith in me. On a basic level, to earn a bit of money back to pay for the trip to Germany last year!

3) To thank my lovely agent, Anne Clark,  and publishers, Catnip Books, and Bounce Marketing, for believing in me.

But at the risk of sounding grandiose, there is another reason.

4) I want people to buy and read ‘Girl with a White Dog’ because it is my attempt to tell a different, kinder story to the one I see told every day in newspaper headlines and on television. I want another story out there, at this time in our history, about people who are different from/to/than us. I just want to add what I can to the sum of debates about austerity and immigration, because we have been through something terrible already in our living history and, in honour of all those people who died in WW2, we can do something to prevent it happening again. I have tried to put lovely things in this book – a white dog, for example. I have tried to write about goodness and forgiveness so that the bad parts don’t overwhelm the story – I want children to love this story, not to be scared by it, but I also want them  to be left with a resolution that there are parts of our history that should not be repeated, and that they have the power to ensure that they aren’t.

Candy’s excellent blog post : http://www.notesfromtheslushpile.com ‘Just because social media is a tool…’

13 thoughts on “Girl With a White Dog – my first book!

  1. Catherine October 31, 2013 at 10:44 am Reply

    Congratulations on your book Anne. In your position I would also be very excited and want to tell the world :). (although I do think that Candy’s blogpost has some useful tips too).

  2. Candy Gourlay November 2, 2013 at 7:54 am Reply

    Huge congratulations, Anne! How exciting for you! And look! You’ve just made another sale!

  3. Anne Booth November 2, 2013 at 11:05 am Reply

    Thank you so much, Candy!

  4. Anne Booth November 2, 2013 at 11:06 am Reply

    And thank you too to Catherine for your kind wishes.

  5. includedbygrace November 9, 2013 at 9:02 pm Reply

    It is ok to tell us a bit about it Anne! It’s your creation and livelihood and I am sure you won’t overdo it. By the way – I got an email telling me your book is coming to me 5 days earlier than it first said…roll on 5th March 2014. So looking forward to reading the finished product. 🙂

  6. I have faith in books | Rhino Reads November 17, 2013 at 9:24 am Reply

    […] it excitedly on pre-order and I am confident that her faith in people will shine through. In her latest blog post she says: “I want people to buy and read ‘Girl with a White Dog’ because it is my attempt […]

  7. Rebekah O'Keeffe January 15, 2014 at 8:04 pm Reply

    Anne, excuse you? What on earth for? You are sharing your joy with us! Thank you.
    I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy. Well done.

  8. Kaarina Hollo April 2, 2014 at 10:14 pm Reply

    My 11-year-old daughter and I just finished reading Girl With a White Dog (bedtime reading over the last ten days or so). We were both bowled over. It is her second-favorite book of all time! It works so well, and you succeeded in making the essential horror of life in Nazi Germany very real and accessible without overwhelming the child reader. The parallels made with contemporary hostility to all kinds of difference, and the nuanced exploration of morality and bravery, are sensitive and nicely shaded. The children are most believable and well-drawn. As someone whose mother grew up in Nazi Germany and who is greatly troubled by the current climate of intolerance for all kinds of ‘others’, particularly the disabled, the book spoke directly to some of my deepest concerns, memories and emotions. Thank you for enabling me to share some of this with my daughter through the medium of such an engrossing and truly humane book.

    • bridgeanneartandwriting April 3, 2014 at 6:15 am Reply

      Thank you so much! What a wonderful review! Would you mind if I shared that with my publisher and if we could use it in future publicity? It says exactly what I would have hoped a reader to say and I am so glad you and your daughter enjoyed it. Thank you.

  9. Kaarina Hollo April 3, 2014 at 8:52 pm Reply

    You’re welcome! Yes, I’d be happy for you to use my response to your wonderful book however you see fit. Wish you all the best with Girl with a White Dog and your current and future projects. We found your book prominently displayed in a children’s bookshop called Rhyme and Reason in Sheffield, by the way — long live the independents!

    I might add that another thing that I really liked about the book is that it isn’t about ‘heroes’ — that the characters don’t always live up to the highest standards of bravery, that they struggle to identify what is right, sometimes make the wrong or inadequate choices; yet their efforts towards the good are acknowledged for what they are, and forgiveness and understanding are nonetheless possible in such circumstances.

  10. bridgeanneartandwriting April 3, 2014 at 9:47 pm Reply

    Thank you. Everything you say is exactly what I would have most wished to read as a response to my book – so thank you so much for your support and encouragement.

  11. bridgeanneartandwriting April 3, 2014 at 9:49 pm Reply

    P.S. – Out of interest – I’m AMAZINGLY flattered it is your daughter’s second favourite book of all time – what is her favourite? I wonder if it will be one of mine?

  12. sheffieldgaelach April 11, 2014 at 10:51 pm Reply

    Her favourite book is A Dog Called Homeless by Sarah Lean (she does rather like dogs…). But I prefer yours!

Leave a Reply

