The Blessed Ben

I’ve told you about Saint Timmy. This is The Blessed Ben.

Image

He is always interested in what I’m doing. I look down to see this:

Image

Or this:

Image

He demands, needs, loves cuddles – and as writing is a very solitary occupation it is nice to have a little dog to give a hug to when your rhymes aren’t working, or your plot is in a muddle.

It can be a bother when he leans his head on the keyboard. Or when he crunches up your pens, or lies on your manuscript.

Image

But it is great when he makes you take him for a walk, because sometimes you just need to get out in the fresh air and get some exercise. And I have some of my best ideas when I’m walking.

And he and St. Timmy are best friends.

Image

And here are 3 other literary dogs who inspire me:

Plum – who inspires the wonderful Emma Chichester Clark. I am delighted to read that  a book about her will be published soon. I love reading her adventures! http://emmachichesterclark.blogspot.co.uk/2013_09_01_archive.html

Dixie O’Day, the wonderful creation of Clara Vulliamy and Shirley Hughes. How gorgeous is this !

http://www.dixieoday.com

And Claude, the great friend of Sir Bobblysock, and the creation of the lovely Alex T Smith

http://claudebooks.blogspot.co.uk

Leave a Reply

